Summer School in Laser Plasma Interactions and Applications

Scottish Universities Summer School in Physics and NATO Advanced Study

Laser-Plasma Interactions and Applications

14 – 27 August 2011, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK

This is the first announcement and call for applications to an
international Summer School on the topic of high power Laser-Plasma
Interactions and Applications, which will be held at the University of
Strathclyde, Glasgow from 14 – 27 August 2011.

The School is primarily aimed at providing postgraduate students and other
early career researchers working in laser-plasma science with a thorough
pedagogical grounding in high power laser plasma interaction physics,
laser-plasma accelerators and inertial confinement fusion. The lectures
will be given by distinguished experts in the field. After the School, the
proceedings will be published as a high quality textbook and all
participants will receive a complimentary copy.

Financial support in the form of bursaries/scholarships to cover
accommodation, meals and in some cases travel is available for qualifying
postgraduate students and other early career researchers from NATO
countries, eligible NATO Partner Countries and Mediterranean Dialogue
Countries (as defined below), subject to eligibility criteria and demand.
The closing date for bursary applications is 28 February 2011.

Further details of the Summer School, including the application form, are
available online at: Please also see
the attached poster.

Please direct email enquiries to

SUSSP68 Organising Committee:
Paul McKenna, David Neely, Dino Jaroszynski, Bob Bingham, Alexander
Andreev and Bill Kruer

NATO countries: Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech
Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland,
Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland,
Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, United
Kingdom, United States.

Eligible NATO Partner Countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and
Herzegovina, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro,
Russia, Serbia, Tajikistan, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia,
Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan.

Mediterranean Dialogue countries: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan,
Mauritania, Morocco and Tunisia


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s