About the Faculty of Physics of the University Bucharest

Address of the Faculty of Physics: Strada Atomiştilor Nr.405, CP MG – 11, RO – 077125 Platforma de Fizică Măgurele

Leadership of the Faculty of Physics consists of

Prof. univ. dr. Ştefan ANTOHE– Dean

Lect. univ. dr. Vasile BERCU – deputy dean

Conf .univ. dr. Lucian ION – deputy dean


Contact details of the Faculty of Physics are:

Phone numbers:

Dean’s Office 021 4574418/021 4574418;

Secretary 021 4574419/021 4574419/021 4574521/021 4574521

Fax: 021 4574418/021 4574521/021 4574521

e-mail:secretariat@fizica.unibuc.ro (nitulescu_gabriela@yahoo.com)

Web page: http://www.fizica.unibuc.ro

Brief History of the Faculty of Physics

In 1864, by decree of organization of higher education, Alexandru Ioan Cuza, founded the University of Bucharest. It is the successor of the Royal Academy, an institution of higher education initiated in 1679 by Prince Șerban Cantacuzino and subsequently founded in 1694 by Constantin Brâncoveanu.

Faculty of Sciences, one of the three original faculties of the University of Bucharest, have two directions of work: physical-mathematical sciences and natural-physics sciences marking the beginning of modern higher education of Physics in Bucharest. Since 1948, the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics emerges from the Faculty of Sciences, and since 1962 the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics separated into the Faculty of Mechanical Mathematics and the Faculty of Physics. Faculty of physics moves within the University campus at Măgurele, alongside the most important institutes in the field of physics, grouped in the Central Institute of physics since 1974.


Promotion of Faculty of Physics

The promotion is done by the Faculty Council’s image, the Commission coordinated by Prof. univ. dr. Ştefan ANTOHE – dean, E-mail: santohe@solid.fizica.unibuc.ro

Lect univ. dr. Vasile BERCU  – deputy dean, E-mail: vasile.bercu@fizica.unibuc.ro.

Conf. univ. dr. Lucian ION – deputy dean, E-mail: lucian@solid.fizica.unibuc.ro.

Information on admission in academic year 2016-2017 will get the same Commission. Conf. univ. dr. Lucian ION, deputy dean, is the person designated to coordinate activities related to the academic year 2016-2017


General presentation of the Faculty of Physics  

The Faculty of Physics oh the University of Bucharest has a teaching staff composed of 86 members in activity,14 consultant teachers and 18 honorific teachers.80 members of the staff have doctorates in Physics received from either Romanian universities or prestigious foreign universities, while the rest are in different stages of work on their PhD’s. A large part of the young doctors have perfected their skills through post-doctoral positions, or other forms of scientific collaborations, at universities from Europe, USA, Japan and Canada.

The teaching and scientific activity of the Faculty is comprised of 3 departments:

  • Department of Electricity, Solid State and Biophysics (Department director – univ.prof.dr. Aurel POPESCU),
  • Department of Theoretical Physics, Mathematics, Optics, Plasma and Lasers (Department director – Univ.Prof.dr. Ioan ARMEANU )
  • Department of Matter Structure, Earth and Atmosphere Physics, Astrophysics (Department director – Univ.prof.dr. Emil BARNA)

Starting with the university year 2005-2006, in accord with the European legislation, the university preparation is composed of 3 cycles, which are: Bachelor (cycle I), Master’s (cycle II) and Doctorate (cycle III). The total time of completion of the 3 cycles is 8 years. Bachelor’s degree has a duration of 3 years for the Physics study domain and has the following specializations: Physics, Medical Physics, Biophysicist, Computaional Physics. The Applied Engineering Sciences specialization (Technological Physics) has a duration of 4 years. The second cycle, Master’s degree, has 9 accredited domains by the ARACIS: (i) Biophysics-Medical Physics, (ii) Earth and Atmosphere Physics, (iii)Electronic Physics and Metrology, (iv) Computational Physics, (v) Physics of the Polymers, (vi) Theoretical Physics, (vii)Photonics, Spectroscopy, Plasma and Laser, (viii) Atom, nuclear, elemental particles Interactions, Astrophysics and it’s applications, (ix) Advanced materials and nanostructures for Electronics and Optoelectronics. In the Applied Engineering Sciences domain the Advanced Applied Physics specialization is also functional.

There is also a master’s degree in Nanosciences. The potential scholarisation can be made in collaboration with the Chemistry and Biology universities. Moreover, in collaboration with the same faculties, there is an integrated Sciences degree – destined, in principle, for the teachers. There is number of three master’s degrees that are destined, usually, for the absolvents of other faculties. These are: (a) Sources of renewable energy, (b) The sciences of conservation/restoration of works of heritage through physical and chemical advanced methods, (c) Advanced materials with application in Dental Medicine. These too are accredited by the ARACIS.


Graduates with master’s diploma can continue their advanced postgraduate preparation in the 3rd cycle of university studies inside of the Doctoral School of Physics belonging to the Institution of Organization of Universities Doctoral Studies? The Faculty of Physics has a remarkable number of professors and honorary professors (35), which obtained from the minister of Education, Research, Youth and Sport the right to manage the doctorate programs in different domains of Physics, such as: Optics, Spectroscopy, Plasma, Laser, Meteorology, Earth and Environmental Physics; Educational Physics. Among these there will be added a number of around 35 grade I scientific researchers from the Physics Platform Magurele.

Annually number of 50 young physicists receive the title Doctor In Physics, internationally applied and acknowledged. In the present day, over 20 doctors of the academic community work in universities or laboratories of prestige from around the world.

The headquarters of the Faculty of Physics of the University of Bucharest is on the Magurele Platform, among the most important institutes of Physics in the country, which significantly increase the possibilities of preparation of the students, with direct implication in research programs, and with possibilities of documentation from the two biggest physics libraries in the country, one belonging to the Institute of Physics and Nuclear Engineering “Horia Hulubei” and the one from the Faculty of Physics.